Share |

Back to Current Announcements

Two SUNY Orange Students Receive Statewide Academic Honor

SUNY Orange students Renita Johnson and Alexander Mahon have been selected as recipients of the Phi Theta Kappa All-New York Academic Award in recognition of their outstanding academic achievements. The pair was among 71 students honored during a luncheon at the New York State Museum last Thursday (March 2).

Presented by PTK, the national honor society for students at two-year colleges, Thursday’s ceremony celebrated the outstanding SUNY and CUNY students from throughout the state. Johnson was listed on the 2017 All New York Academic Team’s first team while Mahon was named to the second team.

Mahon, of Newburgh, receives the honor for the second year in a row. Last May, he earned his associate in arts degree in liberal arts (concentration in English), and elected to return to the College to acquire an associate in science degree, also in liberal arts. He is presently enrolled at SUNY New Paltz. While at SUNY Orange, Mahon was a member of the College’s Honors Program and served as treasurer of the Alpha Nu Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. He was a member of the SUNY Orange team that participates in the Orange County mosquito surveillance project, and he worked with professor Mike McCoy and the Puppy Up Foundation’s comparative cancer research initiative.

Johnson, a resident of Middletown who moved to the area from upstate New York in order to attend SUNY Orange, is also a double major at the College. She will graduate this May with a liberal arts degree (concentration in biology) and expects to earn her nursing degree in December. She is currently president of the College’s PTK chapter, serves as a student senator, sits on the Athletic Advisory Committee, works as an anatomy and physiology tutor, and serves as a peer mentor/advisor for the College’s advising office and TRIO program. Last Fall, Johnson was a member of Colts’ first-ever women’s cross country team and helped guide the squad to the Division III national junior college championship meet.

Mike Albright