Add to SUNY Orange Google Calendar

Share |

Back to Calendar :: Back to Current Announcements

The North East Watercolor Society Exhibit

Dates:
02/05/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/06/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/07/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/08/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/09/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
02/11/2018 (Sun): 2:00 pm- 5:00 pm
02/12/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/13/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/14/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/15/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/16/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
02/19/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/20/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/21/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/22/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/23/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
02/26/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/27/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
02/28/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/01/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/02/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 9:30 pm
03/03/2018 (Sat): 1:00 pm- 4:15 pm
03/05/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/06/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/07/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/08/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/09/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
03/11/2018 (Sun): 2:00 pm- 5:00 pm
03/12/2018 (Mon): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/13/2018 (Tue): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/14/2018 (Wed): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/15/2018 (Thu): 9:00 am- 8:00 pm
03/16/2018 (Fri): 9:00 am- 6:00 pm
Category: Campus Events
Description:

The North East Watercolor Society [NEWS] has an annual international, juried show in the fall and an annual, juried members’ show in the winter. One might think that in order to stage these exhibits year-in and year-out, the artworks would become routine and of lesser quality. Not so, with the NEWS! Quality is indeed a trademark of the organization and its member artists.

Each year, 90 to 120 works hang in the members’ show in Orange Hall Gallery and Loft. People far and wide as well as local community people join the college community in enjoying the beauty and creativity of the works and in learning from viewing the various techniques the watercolor medium allows. The versatility of this transparent and semi-transparent medium is captivating as it is demonstrated in various styles of still lifes, land and seascapes, portraits, genre paintings, and semi-abstracts. The North East Watercolor Society 2018 Members’ Exhibit displays 108 paintings by 58 artists.

 

The exhibit runs February 5 through March 20, 2018. The reception at which awards will be presented will take place on Saturday, March 3 from 1 to 4:15pm. Pianist Geoff Hamburg will start off the afternoon event at 1pm by playing classical pieces and jazz standards.

 

Then, this year’s show judge, Judith Hummer, will demonstrate starting at 2:30pm. Her topic is painting watercolor/watermedia on Yupo paper, Let Your Creativity Flow with Watercolor on Yupo Paper. “This is another example of innovation in the diversity of techniques and materials in watercolor,” states NEWS president Richard Price.

The reception and demonstration plus the exhibit are free and open to the public.

 

Gallery hours are Monday through Thursday 9am-8pm and Friday 9am-6pm.  The gallery is also open Sundays, February 11 and March 11 ~ 2 to 5pm, and Friday, March 2 until 9:30pm.  

 

Orange Hall is located at the corner of Wawayanda and Grandview Avenues, (GPS: 24 Grandview Ave.) on the Middletown campus of SUNY Orange. Questions may be addressed to Cultural Affairs at (845)341-4891 or cultural@sunyorange.edu.  You may also visit the Cultural Affairs website at www.sunyorange.edu/culturalaffairs.

Location: Orange Hall Gallery and Loft
Fee: FREE
Phone: (845) 341-4891
E-mail: cultural@sunyorange.edu
Web Page: Follow this link
Announcement: The North East Watercolor Society Exhibit Features 108 paintings in Orange Hall Gallery and Loft